Back to the Frozen Tundra

On Sunday, December 13, my friend Dick and I started heading north. We made a stop in South Carolina for a couple days to visit with a dog trainer there to see about possibly selling Dick’s black lab (Winston). He did not end up selling the dog. But it was a nice break on the way north, it was still warm enough to be in shorts in the afternoon. But now being back in Wisconsin that seems like a long time ago because it’s been cold and windy here. We did spend one day at Panther Creek State Park in Tennessee. Panther Creek State Park is a 1435 acre park located on the Cherokee Reservoir in the historic Holston River Valley. It is just a few miles out of the town of Moorestown Tennessee. The park has 17 different hiking trails covering more than 30 miles of terrain at all levels of difficulty. Hikers can enjoy magnificent views of Cherokee Lake and the Cumberland Mountains from Lookout Point. There are also more than 15 miles of mountain bike trails that range from easy to difficult. Here are some photos from the Outlook looking out over the river.

1

2

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well I got back to my house in Oxford on Thursday afternoon 12/17 with a few snow flurries flying in the air. At that point all I wanted to do was the bare minimum on the RV. I turned around and emptied any food and items that would freeze overnight and move them into the house and turning the heat up in the house. The house was quite chilly seeing that the temperature was set at 47°, and what is where it was at. That was about it for Thursdays. I ended up sleeping in late Friday and not being very ambitious because of the colder temperatures, being spoiled with the nice weather in Georgia. But I did finish getting the RV emptied out and winterized for the next month or so that I’ll be back here in Wisconsin. It still did get up in the 40s yesterday and 30s today. I should not complain because by comparison this winter in Wisconsin has been quite mild so far and even though it seems cold to me it has been a nice winter so far. Over the next few days till Christmas it’s supposed to reach the low 40s most days and only down in the 20s at night. Over the next few weeks I will be spending time with friends and relatives over the holidays.

My friend Dick has a couple projects he would like to work on in his house. He has a bathroom remodeling project, that I offered to help him with. So over the next month or so if we get this and other projects done we might both decide to head south again. He has some other friends in Texas that have invited him to come down stay and work with his dogs. So when we get tired of the winter and want some warmer weather we’ve got some options. My neighbors go to Phoenix every winter and have been dying to have me come join them also. So I will have to see how things go and how quick I get tired of the cold, or if something maybe happens with the sale of the house, at least I’ve got some options.

Well at this time of the year I miss my dear Sonia more than ever, here’s a photo of her from years past at Christmas time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s a photo of her and the girls at my oldest daughter Crystal’s wedding.

6Well that’s all for now, and I wish you all a Very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and hope that you all have a safe and happy holiday season. 🙂 

 

3 thoughts on “Back to the Frozen Tundra

  1. Glad to hear from you – but I have to ask – are you nuts? You are WAY too far north! I hoping you get tired of the cold and we get to see you in AZ – end of Feb!
    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and yours!

    Like

Leave a Reply

