First week in Phoenix Arizona

Since my last post I had one more week in Quartzsite and now full week in Phoenix. During the last week in Quartzsite we had many social hours and several gatherings. Three more couples of RV Dreamers arrived in Quartzsite on Tuesday, February 23, Lee and Tracy, Greg and Cori had been here when I first arrived but then had a go on to other locations for a few weeks. But when they came back and they also brought along Bill and Kelly another couple that I know from previous rallies. So we had several gatherings potlucks and social hours, it was great seeing them all again. Maxine and I did a couple day trips also. One day we took a ride to Yuma, we got the check out the River Walk Park along the Colorado River and Maxine got to do a little swimming (it’s hard to find places to take her swimming out here in the desert, you know how she loves to go swimming) here are a couple photos of the park along the river.20160219_14330620160219_143943On the way back we stopped at a couple farmers markets and get some great produce. They grow a lot of different crops in Yuma because they have the water there from the Colorado River and they can urinate the fields. Another day we took a long trip and met up with my sister and brother-in-law northeast of Vegas and met at Valley of Fire State Park. They were out for a few days in Vegas where they had rented a condo and a car so that they could see sites around the area. Valley of Fire is a really neat state park that Tracy and Lee had visited while they were in Vegas a few weeks ago and she wrote about it in her journal. It has a very nice campground and it would be great to come back and spend a few days here at some point. The big thing is all the red sandstone rocks that have been eroded by wind and rain over the years, they have lots of holes in them like little caves. There is also some petrified logs throughout the park but nothing like the Petrified Forest National Park on the east side of Arizona. Here are a few photos of some of the landscape and bright red rocks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are also several areas where there are several petroglyphs on the rocks, they had built a staircase so you can get up to these that I was able to take a photo of.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View from the top of the stairs where the petroglyphs are.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

From there my sister Jean was taking a picture of me taking a picture of her, she says she has a lot of good pictures of me and Maxine but I have not seen them as of yet when I get them I will have to add them to this post.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s a photo of my brother-in-law Tom taking a picture of a ground squirrel that was running around.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On the way back I also stopped at the Hoover Dam and Lake Mead. It is amazes to me how much the lake level has gone down over the years. I was out here in the fall of 1983 when Lake Mead was at his all-time high. The water levels have gone down ever since. You can see on the rocks by the white marks looking like bathtub rings of how much the water is dropped over the years due to drought and heavy consumption by growing population in the Nevada, Arizona and California. The last time I was out here the only way to get across the river was over the roadway on top of the dam. But in 2001 they started planning and building the new Memorial Bridge so the highway no longer crosses the dam. Here’s a photo of the new bridge from down at the dam looking up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now the road that comes down to the dam and crosses it dead ends on the Arizona side and it is just use the access to the dam for tours and sightseeing. From the road going to the dam there is place we can park and hike up to the bridge to take great photos of the dam here is one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have been on tours of the dam several different times over the years so opt not to do one on this trip (plus I would not be able to bring Maxine the tour). But if you are in the area I highly recommend doing the tour the dam.

Here’s a photo from the Arizona side of the dam and you can see how the water is dropped. It is down some 140 feet from the high water point of 1983.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is a photo from a Lookout above the dam you can see at one point at all but a small part of these islands were underwater.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 This is a photo down near the marina that you can see in the above photo. You can see how much the water level has gone down in the lake, this whole marina is built on floating piers and docs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On Saturday, February 27 after saying my goodbyes and packing up I headed off to Phoenix where I will be spending the next month. I am staying at Desert Shadows RV Park, it is a nice 55 and older RV Park located right within the city of Phoenix. The park is probably about 90% Park models and the people that own these come down for 4 to 6 months at a time from the north and pay an annual fee. The rest are either people that come down for a few weeks or months at a time, but some people even only stay for a few days. My neighbors from back in Wisconsin and good friends Joe and Murlane have been coming here for years during the winter months and’s have a park model in this park. The park is a little more than I would normally spend for site at $724 for a month plus metered electric (but it would’ve cost me more to stay for two weeks then for the whole month). There are all kinds of great activities they have a great clubhouse a pool and Jacuzzi and there are all kinds of social activities on a regular basis. Plus I get to spend some good quality time with my good friends and are making new friends. In the last week I played cribbage several times, poker ones and have gone to bingo one night, they had a dance on the first Saturday I was here with a good country band and we had a (block party) potluck type gathering. The only downside is my friend Joe has been a little under the weather with some swollen feet and hasn’t been 100%. On Sunday the day after I got here I spent several hours cleaning out the inside of the RV and doing laundry, which felt great after all the dust in the Quartzsite area the last couple weeks. And then on Monday I spent several more hours completely cleaning the car and starting to wash the outside of the RV. I also spent a few hours on Monday fixing a cable that broke on my toilet use as part of the flushing mechanism. The good thing is with all the RV dealers in the area I was able to find the part I needed and got it fixed that day. But since then I haven’t had the energy to finish the outside of the RV with all the social activities that have been going on. I made a couple batches of what is turning out to be my world-famous lemon bars for the potluck and the share my friends. You see in the park a lot of people have different kinds of citrus trees and I was able to talk one of them out of some fresh lemons and made a couple gallons of lemonade and a lemon bars that are shared with a lot of people. I’m sure I will be making more lemon bars and plan on making some lemon meringue pies in the next couple weeks. I am also sure this next week I will get the rest of the RV washed. Plus I have a couple day trips in mind but more to come on that later so goodbye for now and hope all of you are well. 🙂

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “First week in Phoenix Arizona

  1. It was great seeing you Rick! Bill and I had a great time spending time with you and Maxine! The pork, rum cake and lemon bars were all delish! You are a great cook!
    Hope our paths cross again some day soon!

    Like

  2. Dick
    Jane and I ran into Alex and Sue at a blues concert here in Fondy Friday and he told me about your blog. You take some nice pictures. The weather has been great here so I’m getting in some good biking.
    Dean

    Like

Leave a Reply

