Happy Father’s Day to all those dads out there!

Well I hope all those dads out there had a great Father’s Day. I had a relaxing one I spent it at campground near Wiggins Colorado. On Friday I left Vail Colorado and started heading east, I got about 200 miles east and stopped at a wayside near Wiggins. I made a call to Jackson Lake State Park and I was in luck someone had canceled and I was able to get a site for the weekend, normally this park is full on every weekend throughout the summer. So I headed about 10 miles north off of Interstate 76 to the park and snagged the last open site. It’s a nice park on the open plains of Colorado east of Denver.20160619_114712

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It consists of over 200 campsites scattered along the shore of the lake. The lake is a nice sand bottom reservoir that gets a lot of boat traffic and swimmers. There isn’t much shade in the area and it was a warm weekend, but it was nice weekend just to relax and do some people watching. Here’s a shot from sitting outside the trailer watching people do their things on this busy weekend.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There were kids flying kites

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Maxine got to go down to the water several times each day and we both did a little swimming.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMaxine tries to make friends wherever she goes, so that way she gets more people entertain her because I think she gets bored with just me. Here she talked a couple of kids into throwing a stick and playing with her.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThere were hundreds of white pelicans that were nesting in the area, you would see them fly and feeding in the area throughout the day and evening. Here are some photos I captured of them as they flew by.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 On Monday I will start heading north toward South Dakota and hope to spend a few days in the Black Hills before I continue east to my camp host job in northern Minnesota. My plan is to get to the park by the weekend of the 25th even though I don’t have to start my job until the first of the month. They said if I arrive early they would find a place for me. And this way I can start getting orientated before the busy Fourth of July weekend. That sounds good to me considering this is my first time as a camp host.

Just a quick update on what I did the last few days in Vail wrapping up the remodeling projects we were working on. As you might remember from my last post we were busy working on putting in a pocket door new pantry in the kitchen area of Terry’s apartment. Here’s a photo of the roughed in.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s a photo after the pantry was installed and you can also see the pocket door in place on the right.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I left she still had a lot of trim work to do and had to finish putting some sliding drawers in the pantry, but I think the pantry looks great and will be very practical. Here you can see the inside of the pantry and she’s got a couple shelves that slide out a place for vacuum and brooms and lots of storage. She will be adding some sliding drawers on the right-hand side but she got the wrong size when she picked all this up at IKEA. The ones stacked on the bottom on the right are not deep enough for the pantry.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We also installed a couple of new solid wood doors replacing the old hollow core ones on her bathrooms. They still need the door trim but she’s will be getting that and be able to finish this all on her own. She has baseboard to install both in her place and the second story apartment but this is also something she can finish on her own. The big thing now will be just getting things cleaned and reorganized again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was glad that my new lifestyle allowed me to spend time with my niece and helped her with these projects. We are talking about plans for next spring taking on some more new projects. We both enjoy working together and she is a quick study and has learned a lot about remodeling. She is talking about buying some fix me up places and turning them for a profit. We will have to see to wait and see. Well that’s it for now just a quick post once again wishing all you dads out there a great Father’s Day and I hope all you kids remembered your dads on his day. With that I’ll leave you with a couple of photos of my dad from years past as a little tribute to him.George 05Mom 15

 

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Father’s Day to all those dads out there!

  1. I think I said it before – your niece is lucky to have such a handy Uncle! All the projects look great!

    I didn’t know you had gotten a Camphost job! How exciting! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

