Camping Amongst the Redwoods and on the Oregon Coast

On my trek northward to my job for the month of June, at Heceta Head Lighthouse in Oregon. I had the opportunity to stop a few nights in the Giant Redwood Forests of Humboldt County California. I had the pleasure of camping right among giant redwoods at Van Duzen County Park. The park is located just southeast of Eureka California. Humboldt County is home to a good share of northern California’s virgin, old-growth Redwoods. It is home to Redwood National and State Parks, Humboldt Redwood State Park and the Avenue of the Giants, to mention just a few of the many locations and groves of these ancient and giant redwood trees. Van Duzen Park is a smaller County Park with a large grove of redwoods dating back to before the logging of this area. With some being almost 1500 years old and over 340 feet tall. The sites are rather small and it was a tight fit to squeeze my RV in, but I got in this one.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABut as you can see by these photos the trees make my RV look tiny.20170502_165419OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe tallest redwood in the country, is located in the Redwood National Park just north of here and is believed to be almost 380 feet tall. But I’m not sure I could tell the difference between a 340 footer and a 380 footer, seeing as looking up I cannot see the top of either one. When you look up at these it’s impossible to get a good photo of the whole tree and how large they really are.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOne of the things that I find really interesting about these giant trees is that the pine cones are quite tiny. Here’s a photo of a handful of them next to some coins to give you an idea of their size. I always thought they had a large pinecone but I was wrong.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Van Duzen Park is located along the banks of the Van Duzen River which is horseshoe-shaped in the park. Offering camping along its banks and is also a popular swimming spot in the summer months. Here Maxine is enjoying the shoreline and its cool water, of course she had to go swimming. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThere were couple small waterfalls feeding into the river.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA There were several trees that had fallen this winter in with them laying on the ground it really gives you a perspective of how large they are. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis one they had a cut to get the road back open and it’s really not even one of the bigger ones.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis one you could stand its hollow base which went up a good 20 feet into the tree.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI spent three days camping here, but the thing is camping in these tall trees it’s always kind of dark and gloomy even when the sun shines. And every day there was a fine mist type rain at least till noon. So even though I was thinking of staying longer I only stayed here a short period of time. But I did do some exploring of the area well I was here. The one day I stopped at the visitor center, and on display was this cool new RV for me.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA It has a heavy Redwood door with all redwood furniture inside, it’s quite cool.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Another day I took a ride into Eureka and got to see a couple tall ships down at the dock. And Maxine and I were allowed aboard them, they were very interesting and on certain days they actually took people on short cruises.20170503_16053420170503_160619 The city of Eureka is also home to many old Victorian style homes. Here is a photo of one of the more famous ones that is private club not open to the public but is still quite impressive. 20170503_162459 On a different day of sightseeing I ended up in Shelter Cove a hidden little bay, that you can get to only by taking a very steep and winding mountain pass road. Here’s a view from the pass just before you descend down into the Cove.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA This stretch of the Northern California coastline is called the Lost Coast and is home to many little hidden coves and a lot of interesting tide pools.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Also a bonus find was this great little lighthouse.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe Cape Mendocino Lighthouse, first lit in 1868 but finally decommissioned in 1951. It was relocated in 1998 to this park from about 35 miles north to save it from falling into the sea.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAEven though it’s not used today as an active lighthouse, it adds unique little character to this coastline. I think it really looks impressive in this photo with the fog covering the hills in the background.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAfter my short stay amongst the giant redwoods I felt it was time to move on. As I said it was kind of gloomy camping amongst these giant trees and also I had no cell reception at the park and had to drive quite a distance to get any cell coverage. So I did some research and found that Harris Beach Park just across the state border into Oregon, was first come first serve at this time of year, plus I should have good cell coverage right at the park. So I headed out for about a 4 Hour drive. To check this park out with plans of staying at least a few nights. When I got to the park there were plenty of sites available. And on my short pass-through of just part of the park looking at sites to choose from. I’ve came across site A20, a great site right on the front road, with great views of the ocean.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe sites have lots of hedges dividing them, plus a nice opened feel to them. So I got set up and paid for three nights. And then Maxine and I took a walk down to the North Beach and she got all excited. Here’s a view of the beach from the road heading down.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe reason that she got excited about were this beach is that it is like the ones in San Diego County, a long sand covered beach. And as soon as I took her leash off she was off running for the waves.20170505_14053720170505_140827The first three days went by so fast, that ended up paying for more and I’ve been here already seven days with more on the way. We’ve had some wind and rain, but also some really nice days so far. And Maxine loves it because I take and go down on the South Beach and we will walk the mile up to the North Beach. So she can run and play in the waves all the way along.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA20170505_140524 There’s this cool large rock that you have to approach at low tide to get to easily.

 Also I took rides up the coast away, and all along Highway 101 in this part of Oregon, there are beautiful views of the coastline right off the highway with numerous pullouts.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThere’s one spot you can get a glimpse of another beautiful arched rock. I love the way the waves come crashing through these.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA On another day I did a tour up the coast taking in several lighthouses. But I’m going to cover this in a separate post to come next so that’s it for now wishing the best everyone, Rick

 

5 thoughts on “Camping Amongst the Redwoods and on the Oregon Coast

  1. You know Tracy & Lee are in Oregon right?
    The Pacific coast is so different from the Atlantic coast – so beautiful! Can’t wait to hear about your summer gig!

    Like

    1. Hi Kelly
      Yes I know that Lee and Tracy are out here too 🙂
      And we are going to get together sometime this summer 🙂
      They will be a few hours northeast of where I will be.
      Maxine really like the sand beaches again, but the water is really cold.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a beautiful place to spend a week or more, so great to be right by the ocean I love it. One day soon. Glad you’re having a great spring in California and Oregon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

